A white page at the horizon

I think this is one of the most scary and most exciting moment for any writer.

epj

The white page is always full of promises, waiting for all the ideas bubbling in ones head to settle on it. With time, everything gets shuffled, played with, re-arranged, perfected, polished, until the very final end point. It’s like a dish you cook, the ingredients -the first words- always remain there, but are transformed in something tasty, appealing, exciting imprinted in your mind.

Even scientific writing, with codes form yesteryear still dictating its rules, has space for style and creativity.

We all know scientists writing papers in the most boring, funny, stylish, twisted, insidious, clumsy, subtle, elegant, dense or impish. I could recognize some scientists I am used to read in my field by their writing style. And no, I am not dropping name.

I am a few days away from starting to write my very own, first, real, scientific article. I feel incredibly excited, but also apprehensive about it. It’s incredible how a few pages can take you months of work. How one figure will take a night without sleep to be perfect. How much energy you need in the last 100 meters.

For the moment, I am building things up in my head. I generally need some days to marinate and “stretch the elastic band” before releasing it and kick off. Next week I start. Well, I wrote it, there is no going back anymore 🙂

Leave a Reply

