The Drosophila week in Cambridge, in a few words …

Hey all,

I’m back from the intense week of Drosophila learning in Cambridge.
It was awesome, exhausting, but I learned a lot, had a great time with my young drosophilists fellows, and left with a great feeling about the city of Cambridge !

After such a science storm, in the beautiful setting of Cambridge, it’s a little rough (to say the least) to go back to the bench and day-to-day life. But it also opened my mind, and I come back with more mental energy and more motivation.

I also totally hooked on fly geneticist and their History and hi-(stories), so I ordered the book “Lords of the fly on amazon. I’ll post a review when I’m done reading it.

I feel just so lucky and so privileged to have had to opportunity to meet all these “big shots” such as Scott Hawley (I look up stuff in the blue book all the time) who is the best teacher of Drosophila genetics ever
Casey Bergman is part of this new generation of PI’s that I find really cool … Constantly thinking about new perspectives, new angles, new ways to do science, and tweeting all this. Open science at it’s best.
Steve Russell and his heavy – but understandable- Scottish accent creeped me out on RNAseq data, Gary Karpen was this cool Californian talking about epigenetics, Pavel Tomancak had awesome imaging pictures, an intriguing theories about eggs and chickens (;-)), and Norbert Perrimon was Norbert Perrimon: Elegant scientifically and IRL, so accessible, and my science felt like baby science next to his.
Even Sir Ashburner came to visit quickly for the 30th anniversary of the course, and we were taking pictures as if we had met our star. (yes, we were really a bunch of nerds)

Anyway, I think you got the message … I’m still a little bit on the clouds, but if your ever want to enter the Drosophila field, this is the golden entrance gate to take …

20120821-232311.jpg

4 thoughts on “The Drosophila week in Cambridge, in a few words …

  1. Dear PhD-bility, thanks for sharing your feelings about Cambridge, I must say I wish I could have attended this course ! (maybe next year…) Many wishes for your coming-back to the lab… and looking forward to your next review on “Lords of the fly” 😉

    • Thanks a lot dear lythfire … I hope amazon will deliver soon ! I’m currently parazited by a rhinovirus and had to heat-shock my self in the bath to induce some lazy immune genes … Shall we start e-mailing again ? I miss our long e-mails in perfect French 🙂

Leave a Reply

