PI Quotes – 3 “If my son ever tells me he wants to be a scientist … “

Time for “PI Quote” number 3 …

I discussed here and there with my supervisor about making a career in academia, being a scientist, etc … So one day were I felt really good about everything, I told him that I definitely wanted to become a scientist !

I looked at mi with this half-happy/half-sad face, and said:

“If my son ever tells me he wants to be a scientist, I will slap him in the face !” 

I still think about here and there, and wonder if this was not the most blunt warning ever …

Actually, I still don’t know what to think about this …  I think no parent advices his kid to do the same job then him … or does it  happen ? What do you say ?

2 thoughts on “PI Quotes – 3 “If my son ever tells me he wants to be a scientist … “

    • He did, but I do not remember details … I think it was about the fact that being a scientist involves working a lot for a poor salary, and also moving a lot and having difficulties getting a tenured position …

Leave a Reply

